Brandel Chamblee: ‘Rahm broke the rule; he should have been penalized’


Jon Rahm won the Irish Open with a record-breaking score on Sunday, but it was yet another rules controversy that dominated the post-victory discussion.

Rahm, who won by six, was told on the 13th tee of a possible penalty he might have committed on the 6th green. Replays show Rahm marking his ball to the side on a short putt, but when he returned the ball he placed it in front of the mark.

After the discussion with Andy McFee, the European tour’s chief referee, on the 13th, Rahm wasn’t assessed the potential two-stroke penalty. McFee said there was only a “millimeters” difference between where the ball was initially marked and where it ended up, and that Rahm made a “reasonable judgment.”

Golf Channel analyst Brandel Chamblee thought differently, first on Twitter and then on Golf Channel’s broadcast.


READ MORE. . . . .